Bullied for Being a @BackstreetBoys fan.

Several days ago. I was at work and I got to talking to one of my customers about what kind of music she liked. For those of you that don’t know, I’m a cashier at Walmart. One of the things that I love to do is strike up a conversation with my customers. So anyway, she proceeded to talk about a concert she had gone to. Of course, I told her about the concert that I had gone to last November. And that I had gotten a picture with my favorite singer. She asked me who my favorite singer was. I told her, in what I thought was a very loud and proud tone, Nick Carter. She looked at me and asked why I sounded ashamed about it. I told her that I wasn’t ashamed. I told her that I’m still dealing with repercussions of being made fun of for liking BSB. She told me that it didn’t matter what they said. That everyone was entitled to their likes and dislikes. And she was right

It was a slow day do as soon as she left, I begin to ponder on that conversation I had with her. Wondering why the hell I would be embarrassed about being a BSB fan. I thought hard about it. Back in the early 2000’s, when I was 12-15 years old, I was at the bottom of the social pyramid. I got looks that hurt so bad. Thinking back, I would’ve preferred to be invisible. And the moment I would tell anyone that I was a huge BSB fan, they would say they were gay, that they sucked, blah blah blah blah. You get the picture. It got to the point that when they saw me with my CD player (MP3 players were a thing for the rich people at the time) and asked me what I was listening to, I would tell them that I was listening to whoever was the hottest singer at the moment. For example Eminem was really popular at the time. From that moment on I found myself telling people not to laugh at me when they asked me about my music preference.

I’ve been a fan for 15 years. And in those 15 years I’ve seen them grow up and go through many life challenges. Getting through them and still maintaining excellent spots on the charts. Making me so proud of them. Back then I felt like I was alone because we didn’t have the means of social networking that we do now. Now I have connected with so many fans that understand what I feel. I can scream and shout how proud I am of BSB without being looked at like I’m insane and stupid. The lesson here is to be proud no matter what others say!!!!!!

#KTBSPA

Leave a Reply

